HL7- Health Level Seven International

Health Level Seven International is one of several American National Standards Institute (ANSI)-accredited Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs) operating in the healthcare arena. Most SDOs produce standards (sometimes called specifications or protocols) for a particular healthcare domain such as pharmacy, medical devices, imaging or insurance (claims processing) transactions. Health Level Seven’s domain is clinical and administrative data. The name HL7 comes from the seven levels of the Open Systems Interconnection (OSI) model. Level Seven is the Application Level. For more information regarding HL7, please visit their website.

HL7 Onboarding Guide for Connecting to the WVHIN

HL7 v2 Data Requirements and Pre-work

IHE – Integrating the Healthcare Enterprise

IHE is an initiative by healthcare professionals and the industry to improve the way computer systems in healthcare share information. IHE promotes the coordinated use of established standards such as DICOM and HL7 to address specific clinical needs in support of optimal patient care. Systems developed in accordance with IHE communicate better with one another, are easier to implement, and enable care providers to use information more effectively. For more information regarding IHE, please visit their website.

IHE Onboarding Guide

Interoperability Services Guide (ISG)

Onboarding Decisions Form (ODF)

Interoperability Testing Guide